Review: Our Divine Mischief by Hanna Howard

70239037

Thank you to HarperCollins/Blink YA, the author, and NetGalley for providing this eARC in exchange for an honest review. This book will be released on October 17, 2023.

On the island of Fuiscea, part of the kingdom of Ilbha, exists a village called Carrighlas that metes out apprenticeships to its young folk via the Goddess Trial: a trip to an island where the person seeking an apprenticeship will meet the goddess Yslet and receive a medallion that is to set them on their path for life. Those who receive a blank, gold medallion are Unblessed and treated as outcasts. But it isn’t until Áila undertakes her Trial and meets only a strange, squirmy, magical dog that the village is forced to contend with what happens when someone does not meet the goddess at all.

I am a sucker for fantasy reinterpretations of countries, and this magical Scotland is no exception. But what I especially loved here was how much of the mythology was present, even as it was mixed with the author’s imagination. One particular creature that was featured made me SO excited, as I rarely ever see them in fiction.

Another thing that I can never get over: books where characters meet the gods they worship. It’s funny, because I have a complicated relationship with real-world religions, but this always speaks to me. Not to get too personal, but maybe because I wish I could also be spoken to. Anyway, despite my issues, these gods? These are easier to believe in. I can palpably feel their love and I don’t doubt it. I just really love the way it’s handled, from mirroring how human institutions twist divine words to their own meaning, and how it edges towards answering the question of why the gods don’t step in.

Áila and Hew are sweet, but of course the standout is Orail. I can’t even begin to express how much I adore her. There are far too few girl and her dog stories, and this one rivals that of Lirael and the Disreputable Dog. The author does such a magnificent job of capturing the intensity of the bond between human and animal, and it’s only enhanced by the fact that we as readers are able to get Orail’s perspective as well. I’m also a huge fan of animal perspectives that are rendered as poetry, so I loved the decision to have her explore different forms of verse as she tried to recover her memories and identity. The ending is perfect, and so incredibly touching, and I cry I cry I cry. Orail is just perfect and fierce and ridiculous. I love her.

If you like talking trickster animals in your fantasy, and you have a pet that you’d die for… Well, I don’t believe you need any further encouragement from me.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close